2012 Independent Spirit Award Nominations - a Quick & Dirty Summary
Photo Credit: S & A

2012 Independent Spirit Award Nominations - a Quick & Dirty Summary


Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, announced nominations for the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards this morning.  Anthony Mackie and Kate Beckinsale served as presenters.

While the big winners of the day were silent movie The Artist and the apocalyptic drama Take Shelter, which came away with 5 nominations each, some are crying foul that George Clooney (The Descendants), Glenn Close (Albert Nobbs), and a few other favorites weren't nominated.

But among filmmakers/films of color, the results are a bit less surprising, as several films we've continued to cover on this site, including Steve McQueen's Shame, Dee Rees' Pariah, Adepero Oduye of Pariah, Harmony Santana of Gun Hill Road, and documentaries The Interrupters, The Redemption of General Butt Naked, and An African Election, all received nominations.

The full slate of nominees for the 2012 Film Independent Spirit Awards is as follows:

Best Feature (Award given to the Producer)




Take Shelter

The Artist

The Descendants

Best Director

Michel Hazanavicius, The Artist

Mike Mills, Beginners

Jeff Nichols, Take Shelter

Alexander Payne, The Descendants

Nicolas Winding Refn, Drive

Best First Feature (Award given to the director and producer)

Another Earth

In The Family

Margin Call

Martha Marcy May Marlene

Natural Selection

John Cassavetes Award

(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000; award given to the writer, director, and producer)



Hello LOnseome


The Dynamiter

Best Screenplay


The Descendants


The Artist

Win Win

Best First Screenplay

Another Earth


Cedar Rapids


Margin Call

Best Female Lead

Elizabeth Olsen

Michelle Williams

Rachael Harris

Adepero Oduye

Lauren Ambrose

Best Male Lead

Michael Shannon

Woody Harrelson

Ryan Golsing

Jean Dujardin

Demian Bichir

Best Supporting Female

Jessica Chastain

Anjelica Huston

Janet McTeer

Harmony Santana

Shailenne Woodley

Best Supporting Male

Albert Brooks

John Hawkes

Christopher Plummer

Corey Stahl

John C. Reilly

Best Cinematography


Midnight in Paris

The Artist

The Off-Hours

The Dynamiter

Best Documentary (Award given to the director)

An African Election

Bill Cunningham New York

The Interrupters

We Were Here

The Redemption of General Butt Naked

Best Foreign Film (Award given to the director)

A Separation



The Kid With a Bike


Robert Altman Award

(Given to one film’s director, casting director, and its ensemble cast)

Marhgin Call

Piaget Producers Award

Chad Burris (Mosquito y Mari)

Sophia Lynn (Take Shelter)

Josh Bond (Martha Marcy May Marlene)

Someone to Watch Award

Simon Arthur (Silver Tongues)

Mark Jackson (Without)

Nicholas Ozeki (Mamitas)

Truer Than Fiction Award

Where Soldiers Come From

Hell and Back Again

Bombay Beach

The 27th annual awards ceremony will be held February 25th in Santa Monica and broadcast by IFC.

See the full press release from Film Independent here, including who comprised the nominating committees, and details on what glorious spoils will go to the winners.

So, what are your thoughts on the nominess?

Shadow and Act is a website dedicated to cinema, television and web content of Africa and its global Diaspora. With daily news, interviews, in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry, and more, Shadow and Act promotes content created by and about people of African descent throughout the world.

© 2023 Shadow & Act. All rights reserved.