Amazon's Prime Video Reveals 'The Lord Of Rings: The Rings Of Power' Rollout Plan
Photo Credit: Prime Video
Television

Amazon's Prime Video Reveals 'The Lord Of Rings: The Rings Of Power' Rollout Plan

Amazon’s Prime Video announced the rollout plan and schedule of The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power.

The first two episodes will drop on Sept. 1 (or Sept 2. depending on your time zone), and after this single episodes will drop weekly. The finale will be on Oct. 14.

Here’s the rollout:

6 p.m. PDT — Thursday, September 1
9 p.m. EDT — Thursday, September 1
10 p.m. Brazil — Thursday, September 1
2 a.m. UK — Friday, September 2
3 a.m. Central European Summer Time — Friday, September 2
5:30 a.m. India Standard Time — Friday, September 2
10 a.m. Japan Standard Time — Friday, September 2
11 a.m. Australia — Friday, September 2
1 p.m. New Zealand — Friday, September 2

The subsequent week is as follows:
9 p.m. PDT — Thursdays
12 a.m. EDT — Fridays
1 a.m. Brazil — Fridays
5 a.m. UK — Fridays
6 a.m. CEST — Fridays
9:30 a.m. IST — Fridays
1 p.m. JST — Fridays
2 p.m. AU — Fridays
4 p.m. NZ — Fridays

Here’s the description:

Prime Video’s The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power brings to screens for the very first time the heroic legends of the fabled Second Age of Middle-earth’s history. This epic drama is set thousands of years before the events of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings books, and will take viewers back to an era in which great powers were forged, kingdoms rose to glory and fell to ruin, unlikely heroes were tested, hope hung by the finest of threads, and one of the greatest villains that ever flowed from Tolkien’s pen threatened to cover all the world in darkness. Beginning in a time of relative peace, the series follows an ensemble cast of characters, both familiar and new, as they confront the long-feared reemergence of evil to Middle-earth. From the darkest depths of the Misty Mountains, to the majestic forests of the elf capital of Lindon, to the breathtaking island kingdom of Númenor, to the farthest reaches of the map, these kingdoms and characters will carve out legacies that live on long after they are gone.

The ensemble cast includes Cynthia Addai-Robinson, Robert Aramayo, Owain Arthur, Maxim Baldry, Nazanin Boniadi, Morfydd Clark, Ismael Cruz Córdova, Charles Edwards, Trystan Gravelle, Sir Lenny Henry, Ema Horvath, Markella Kavenagh, Joseph Mawle, Tyroe Muhafidin, Sophia Nomvete, Lloyd Owen, Megan Richards, Dylan Smith, Charlie Vickers, Leon Wadham, Benjamin Walker, Daniel Weyman and Sara Zwangobani.

The show is led by showrunners and executive producers J.D. Payne & Patrick McKay. They executive produce with Lindsey Weber, Callum Greene, J.A. Bayona, Belén Atienza, Justin Doble, Jason Cahill, Gennifer Hutchison, Bruce Richmond, and Sharon Tal Yguado. Wayne Che Yip s co-executive producer, Charlotte Brändström directs and Christopher Newman is also a producer.

Shadow and Act is a website dedicated to cinema, television and web content of Africa and its global Diaspora. With daily news, interviews, in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry, and more, Shadow and Act promotes content created by and about people of African descent throughout the world.

© 2023 Shadow & Act. All rights reserved.