Ben Vereen, Woodie King Jr To Be Inducted Into Theatre Hall of Fame
Photo Credit: S & A

Ben Vereen, Woodie King Jr To Be Inducted Into Theatre Hall of Fame

From Playbill: has learned that the 2011 Theater Hall of Fame inductees will include actors Tyne Daly and Ben Vereen; costume designer Ann Roth; director Daniel Sullivan; producers George White, Elliot Martin and Woodie King Jr; and, posthumously, director Paul Sills. The 41st Annual Theatre Hall of Fame ceremony will be held Jan. 30, 2012, in the Gershwin Theatre’s North Rotunda. Academy Award winner Estelle Parsons will host the evening; Terry Hodge Taylor produces.

Ben Vereen won the Tony Award in 1973 for his performance in Pippin and was a Tony nominee for Jesus Christ Superstar. He has also been seen on Broadway in Hair, Jelly’s Last Jam, and more. He has appeared Off-Broadway in The Prodigal Son and The Exonerated.

Woodie King Jr. produced the Broadway productions of for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf, What the Wine-Sellers Buy, The First Breeze of Summer, Reggae, and Checkmates, which he also directed. He performed on Broadway in The Great White Hope.

Shadow and Act is a website dedicated to cinema, television and web content of Africa and its global Diaspora. With daily news, interviews, in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry, and more, Shadow and Act promotes content created by and about people of African descent throughout the world.

© 2022 Shadow & Act. All rights reserved.