BET Sets Star-Studded 365Black Awards Ceremony for September
Photo Credit: Legendary R&B songstress Toni Braxton accepts a Lifetime Achievement McDonald's 365Black Award for her commitment to giving back to the community. Other honorees include football cornerback Charles "Peanut" Tillman; award-winning actress Wendy Raquel Robinson; and educator and historian Lonnie Bunch, among others. The awards are presented annually to salute outstanding achievements of those who are committed to making positive contributions that strengthen the African-American community. McDonald's 365Black Awards show will premiere September 1 on BET Networks at 9pm EST. (PRNewsFoto/McDonald's USA)
Television

BET Sets Star-Studded 365Black Awards Ceremony for September

Toni Braxton accepts a Lifetime Achievement McDonald's 365Black Award (PRNewsFoto/McDonald's USA)
Toni Braxton accepts a Lifetime Achievement McDonald’s 365Black Award (PRNewsFoto/McDonald’s USA)

McDonald’s USA will televise its 13th annual 365Black Awards ceremony for the fourth consecutive year on BET (Black Entertainment Television) in an event hosted by actor Lance Gross alongside actress/singer Amber P. Riley, initially airing on Thursday, September 1 at 9:00 p.m. EST/8:00 p.m. CST.




Those who miss the first airing can catch it again the following Sunday, September 4 at 10:30 a.m. EST/9:30 a.m. CST on BET and on CENTRIC-TV on September 11 at 11:00 p.m. EST/10:00 p.m. CST and again on September 12 at 10:00 a.m. EST/9:00 a.m. CST.

R&B songstress Toni Braxton will accept a Lifetime Achievement McDonald’s 365Black Award for her commitment to giving back to the community. Other honorees include football cornerback Charles “Peanut” Tillman; award-winning actress Wendy Raquel Robinson; and educator and historian Lonnie Bunch, among others. The awards are presented annually to salute outstanding achievements of those who are committed to making positive contributions that strengthen the African-American community.

Held in conjunction with ESSENCE Festival, the show boasts performances from R&B singer Kelly Price and The Braxton Sisters, as well as recording artists Kenny Lattimore, V. Bozeman and Eric Benet. Anthony Hamilton and The Hamiltones, Chrisette Michele, Ro James and Canton Jones lead other performances at the awards.

“I’ve worked with the brand several times over the last few years. I was honored to host the McDonald’s 365Black Awards for the first year alongside Amber,” said Lance. “It’s extremely satisfying to be a part of something that lifts our people up.”




Additionally, teen philanthropist Lauren Seroyer and teen social-entrepreneur Donovan Smith are recognized with the third McDonald’s 365Black Community Choice Youth Award, facilitated by Thurgood Marshall College Fund.

“We’re excited to team up with BET Networks again to broadcast McDonald’s annual 365Black Awards,” said William Rhodes, McDonald’s U.S. marketing director. “McDonald’s is committed every day to being deeply rooted in your community and it’s a great feeling to connect with another media entity that seeks to uplift our community as well.”

Follow @365Black on Twitter and use the hashtag #365BlackAwards.

Shadow and Act is a website dedicated to cinema, television and web content of Africa and its global Diaspora. With daily news, interviews, in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry, and more, Shadow and Act promotes content created by and about people of African descent throughout the world.

© 2022 Shadow & Act. All rights reserved.