'Grey's Anatomy,' 'How To Get Away With Murder' And 'Station 19' All Renewed At ABC
Photo Credit: S & A
News , Television

'Grey's Anatomy,' 'How To Get Away With Murder' And 'Station 19' All Renewed At ABC

ABC has renewed its trio of TGIT shows from Shonda Rhimes’ Shondaland: Grey’s Anatomy, How to Get Away with Murder and Grey’s spinoff, Station 19. Krista Vernoff, showrunner of Grey’s Anatomy, will move over to Station 19 as well.  This news comes after ABC axed Shondaland legal drama, For the People.

MORE: Your One-Stop Shop for All 2019 Upfronts Season Content 

“Everyone at Shondaland is thrilled that our fans’ commitment to TGIT continues. We are so proud of Krista and Pete and the work they do. Making the choice to have Krista oversee ‘Station 19’ was easy — the creativity she brings to the ‘Grey’s Anatomy’ universe continues a tradition of storytelling we hold dear,”  said Shonda Rhimes and producing partner Betsy Beers in a joint statement.

The high-intensity medical drama, Grey’s Anatomy, follows Meredith Grey and the team of doctors at Grey Sloan Memorial, who are faced with life-or-death decisions on a daily basis. They seek comfort from one another, and, at times, more than just friendship. Together they discover that neither medicine nor relationships can be defined in black and white. It stars Ellen Pompeo as Meredith Grey, Justin Chambers as Alex Karev, Chandra Wilson as Miranda Bailey, James Pickens Jr. as Richard Webber, Kevin McKidd as Owen Hunt, Jesse Williams as Jackson Avery, Caterina Scorsone as Amelia Shepherd, Camilla Luddington as Jo Wilson, Kelly McCreary as Maggie Pierce and Giacomo Gianniotti as Andrew DeLuca.

In the long-running Viola Davis-led, Philadelphia-based drama, How to Get Away With Murder, deception, fear and guilt are the ties that bind Professor Annalise Keating (Davis) to her associates and students. How to Get Away with Murder also stars Billy Brown as Detective Nate Lahey, Jack Falahee as Connor Walsh, Aja Naomi King as Michaela Pratt, Matt McGorry as Asher Millstone, Karla Souza as Laurel Castillo, Charlie Weber as Frank Delfino, Rome Flynn as Gabriel Maddox, Liza Weil as Bonnie Winterbottom, Amirah Vann as Tegan Price and Conrad Ricamora as Oliver Hampton.

Station 19, the latest series from the executive producers of Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal and How to Get Away with Murder follows a group of heroic firefighters at Seattle Fire Station 19, from captain to newest recruit, as they risk their lives and hearts both in the line of duty and off the clock. These brave men and women are like family, literally and figuratively, and together they put their own lives in jeopardy as first responders to save the lives of others.  The series stars Jaina Lee Ortiz as Andy Herrera, Jason George as Ben Warren, Grey Damon as Jack Gibson, Barrett Doss as Victoria Hughes, Alberto Frezza as Ryan Tanner, Jay Hayden as Travis Montgomery, Okieriete Onaodowan as Dean Miller, Danielle Savre as Maya Bishop, Boris Kodjoe as Robert Sullivan and Miguel Sandoval as Captain Pruitt Herrera.



ABC Cancels Shondaland Series ‘For The People’ After Two Seasons

CBS Orders 7 New Series, Including Simone Missick Legal Drama, Mike Colter Religion-Science Drama And More

The CW Update: Ashleigh Murray To Officially Exit ‘Riverdale’ With Spinoff Ordered; ‘Batwoman’ And ‘Nancy Drew’ Also Picked Up


Photos: ABC


Shadow and Act is a website dedicated to cinema, television and web content of Africa and its global Diaspora. With daily news, interviews, in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry, and more, Shadow and Act promotes content created by and about people of African descent throughout the world.

© 2022 Shadow & Act. All rights reserved.