'Moonlight' Makes Gotham Awards History: First Film to Win 4 Awards + Both Best Feature and Audience Award (Video)
Photo Credit: IFP
Awards , Film

'Moonlight' Makes Gotham Awards History: First Film to Win 4 Awards + Both Best Feature and Audience Award (Video)


This past Monday evening the winners of the 26th Annual IFP Gotham Awards were announced at an awards ceremony hosted by Keegan-Michael Key and held at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City.

Of note, Barry Jenkins’ “Moonlight” dominated top awards for the evening, winning Best Feature, Best Screenplay, Gotham Audience Award, and a Special Jury Award for Ensemble Performance, making it the first film in the history of the Gotham Awards to win four awards and the first to win both Best Feature and the Audience Award.

Meanwhile, the award for Best Documentary went to “O.J.: Made in America,” Ezra Edelman’s epic saga of race, celebrity, media, violence, and the criminal justice system.

Winning the award for Best Actor was Casey Affleck for his affecting performance as a taciturn, grief-stricken man dragged back toward life when custody of his teenage nephew is forced upon him in “Manchester by the Sea.”

Isabelle Huppert was voted Best Actress for “Elle,” in which she plays a businesswoman whose seemingly aloof reaction to a home invasion sexual attack serves as the complex and unpredictable driver for Paul Verhoeven’s scintillating thriller/bourgeois comedy.

Watch Barry Jenkins’ acceptance speech in receiving the Best Feature award, at the bottom of this post, after the full list of recipients that follows:

For Best Feature, presented by Natalie Portman

“Moonlight,” Directed by Barry Jenkins; Produced by Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleiner; Released by A24

The Best Feature jury included Blythe Danner, Grant Heslov, Oscar Isaac, Doug Liman, and Andrij Parekh.

For Best Documentary, presented by Annette Bening and Greta Gerwig

“O.J.: Made in America,” Directed by Ezra Edelman; Produced by Caroline Waterlow, Ezra Edelman, Tamara Rosenberg, Nina Krstic, Deirdre Fenton, Libby Geist, Erin Leyden, and Connor Schell; Released by ESPN Films

The Best Documentary jury included Liz Garbus, Joshua Oppenheimer, Yoruba Richen, Bernardo Ruiz, and Tom Yellin.

For the IFP Gotham Audience Award, presented by Damian Lewis


“Moonlight,” Directed by Barry Jenkins; Produced by Adele Romanski, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleiner; Released by A24

The Audience Award was voted for on-line by IFP members.

For Best Actor, presented by Nick Kroll

Casey Affleck in “Manchester by the Sea”; Released by Amazon Studios

The Best Actor jury included Neil Burger, Jonah Hill, Benjamin Kasulke, Lisa Kudrow, and Gina Prince-Bythewood.

For Best Actress, presented by Neve Campbell and David Oyelowo

Isabelle Huppert in “Elle”; Released by Sony Pictures Classics

The Best Actress jury included Rene Bastian, Neve Campbell, Katherine Dieckmann, Tim Orr, and Fisher Stevens.

For Best Screenplay, presented by Katie Holmes

Barry Jenkins (Screenplay) and Tarell Alvin McCraney (Story) for “Moonlight”; Released by A24

The Best Screenplay jury included Chiwetel Ejiofor, Grace Gummer, Daniela Taplin Lundberg, Daniel Minahan, and Jeremy Saulnier.

For Breakthrough Actor, presented by Kate Beckinsale

Anya Taylor-Joy in “The Witch”; Released by A24

The Breakthrough Actor jury included Eric Bogosian, Ross Katz, Sophia Lin, Gabourey Sidibe, and Dylan Tichenor.

For Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director, presented by Emily Mortimer

Trey Edward Shults for “Krisha”; Released by A24

The Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director jury included Sean Baker, Emily Mortimer, Rachel Morrison, William Packer, and Alexander Skarsgård.

For Breakthrough Series – Long Form, presented by Lela Loren and Ben McKenzie

“Crazy Ex-Girlfriend”; Created by Rachel Bloom & Aline Brosh McKenna; Executive Produced by Marc Webb, Rachel Bloom, Aline Brosh McKenna, and Erin Ehrlich; The CW

The Breakthrough Series – Long Form jury included Sam Esmail, Ellen Kuras, Lela Loren, Patton Oswalt, and Dee Rees.

For Breakthrough Series – Short Form, presented by Leslie Mann

“Her Story”; Created by Jen Richards and Laura Zak; Produced by Kate Fisher; Executive Produced by Eve Ensler; herstoryshow.com

The Breakthrough Series-Short Form jury included Effie Brown, John David Coles, Rob Corddry, Gaby Hoffmann, and Ingrid Jungerman.

Special Jury Award for Ensemble Performance, presented by Gael Garcia Bernal

“Moonlight”; Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, and Ashton Sanders; Released by A24

For the deep euphoria Calvin Klein Spotlight on Women Filmmakers ‘Live the Dream’ Grant, presented by Margot Robbie

Roxy Toporowych for “Julia Blue”

The deep euphoria Calvin Klein Spotlight on Women Filmmakers’ ‘Live the Dream’ grant jury included Sarah-Violet Bliss, Carly Hugo, Susan A. Stover, and Noël Wells

And below are acceptance speeches by Barry Jenkins and Ezra Edelman (accepting the 2016 IFP Gotham Award for Best Documentary):