'Moonlight,' 'The Fits,' 'Jean of the Joneses,' '13th,' 'I Am Not Your Negro' + More Are 2017 Spirit Awards Nominees
Photo Credit: "Moonlight" / A24
Awards , Film

'Moonlight,' 'The Fits,' 'Jean of the Joneses,' '13th,' 'I Am Not Your Negro' + More Are 2017 Spirit Awards Nominees

"Moonlight" / A24
“Moonlight” / A24

Film Independent has announced nominations for the 2017 Spirit Awards today, marking the 32nd edition of the awards show that celebrates the best of independent film.

Spirit Awards are given out in the following categories: Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best First Screenplay, Best Director, Best Screenplay, John Cassavetes Award (given to the best feature made for a budget under $500,000), Best Male Lead, Best Female Lead, Best Supporting Male, Best Supporting Female, Best Cinematography, Best International Film, Best Documentary and Best Editing.

The Filmmaker Awards include the Piaget Producers Award, the Truer Than Fiction Award and the Kiehl’s Someone to Watch Award.

Of note, with respect to this blog’s interest are: “Moonlight” is nominated for Best Feature, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Cinematography, Editing, and Ensemble Cast; “Loving” is nominated for Best Director and Best Female Lead; “The Fits” is nominated for Best First Feature and the Someone to Watch Award; “Barry” and “Jean of the Joneses” are nominated for Best First Screenplay; “Free In Deed” is nominated for Best Male Lead, Best Supporting Female, Cinematography, and Best Feature Under $500K; “Hunter Gatherer” is also nominated for Best Feature Under $500K; “Morris From America” is nominated for Best Supporting Male; Finally, “13th”, “I Am Not Your Negro” and “OJ: Made in America” are all nominated for Best Documentary.

The full list of nominees follow below. The 2017 Film Independent Spirit Awards happen on February 25 in Santa Monica and will be broadcast live on IFC at 5pm EST:

Best Feature

“American Honey”



“Manchester by the Sea”


Best Director

Andrea Arnold – “American Honey”

Barry Jenkins – “Moonlight”

Pablo Larrain – “Jackie”

Jeff Nichols – “Loving”

Kelly Reichardt – “Certain Women”

Best Screenplay

Barry Jenkins – “Moonlight”

Kenneth Lonergan – “Manchester By The Sea”

Mike Mills – “20th Century Women”

Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias – “Little Men”

Taylor Sheridan – “Hell Or High Water”

Best First Feature

“The Childhood Of A Leader”

“The Fits”

“Other People”

“Swiss Army Man”

“The Witch”

Best First Screenplay

Robert Eggers – “The Witch”

Chris Kelly – “Other People”

Adam Mansbach – “Barry”

Stella Meghie – “Jean of the Joneses”

Craig Shilowich – “Christine”

Best Male Lead

Casey Affleck – “Manchester By The Sea”

David Harewood – “Free In Deed”

Viggo Mortensen – “Captain Fantastic”

Jesse Plemons – “Other People”

Tim Roth – “Chronic”

Best Female Lead

Annette Bening – “20th Century Women”

Isabelle Huppert – “Elle”

Sasha Lane – “American Honey”

Ruth Negga – “Loving”

Natalie Portman – “Jackie”

Best Supporting Male

Ralph Fiennes – “A Bigger Splash”

Ben Foster – “Hell Or High Water”

Lucas Hedges – “Manchester By The Sea”

Shia LaBeouf – “American Honey”

Craig Robinson – “Morris From America”

Best Supporting Female

Edwina Findley – “Free in Deed”

Paulina Garcia – “Little Men”

Lily Gladstone – “Certain Women”

Riley Keogh – “American Honey”

Molly Shannon – “Other People”

Best Documentary



“I Am Not Your Negro”

“OJ: Made in America”


“Under The Sun”

Best International Film

“Aquarius” (Brazil)

“Chevalier” (Greece)

“My Golden Days” (France)

“Toni Erdmann” (Germany/Romania)

“Under The Shadow” (Iran/UK)

Best Cinematography

“Free in Deed”

“The Childhood Of A Leader”

“The Eyes of My Mother”


“American Honey”

Best Editing

“Swiss Army Man”

“Manchester By The Sea”


“Hell or High Water”


John Cassavetes Award (Best Feature Under $500,000)

“Free in Deed”

“Hunter Gatherer”



“Spa Night”

Robert Altman Award (Best Ensemble)



Andrew Ahn – Director of “Spa Night”

Claire Carre – Director of “Embers”

Anna Rose Holmer – Director of “The Fits”

Ingrid Jungermann – Director of “Women Who Kill”


Lisa Kjerulff

Jordana Mollick

Melody C. Roscher & Craig Shilowich


Kristi Jacobson – Director of “Solitary”

Sara Jordan – Director of “Kiki”

Nan Wang – Director of “Hooligan Sparrow”

Shadow and Act is a website dedicated to cinema, television and web content of Africa and its global Diaspora. With daily news, interviews, in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry, and more, Shadow and Act promotes content created by and about people of African descent throughout the world.

© 2023 Shadow & Act. All rights reserved.