Viola Davis, Daniel Kaluuya, Regina King And More Honored At 12th AAFCA Awards
Photo Credit: AAFCA

Viola Davis, Daniel Kaluuya, Regina King And More Honored At 12th AAFCA Awards

The 12th African American Film Critics Association Awards was held virtually Thursday night and Black Hollywood's finest turned out as the group honored the best of the year in Black cinema.

Hosted by Tichina Arnold, J.B. Smoove, and Tone Bell, the awards aired to a private audience. A second, public viewing will be available to watch on April 17 and 18 on The AAFCA Channel on Comcast/Xfinity.

"I just want to say this one thing, because of this past year and everything that we have been through, what the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls the butterfly," said Viola Davis in her acceptance speech for The AAFCA Icon Award presented by ADCOLOR. "We have within us, all the tools that are necessary to elevate our lives in the most unbelievable profound ways. I have found it through my acting, but my God, we can find it through every area in our life."

Mariah Carey was also present to accept The AAFCA Innovator Award presented by Nissan. She said in part, "It's an honor to be recognized as an innovator because in my experience when you have holes in your only pair of shoes and are existing on a dollar a day, choosing between food and a subway ride....when you are the only one who believes in your vision for yourself, you better get to innovating...I, like so many African American artists, we create out of necessity, out of pain, out of hardship. We create out of having nothing. Nothing but the ability to believe and that is the power, that is the blessing, that is the ultimate emancipation."

Check out the full list of last night's winners below:

The AAFCA Award for Best Supporting Actress, presented by Gugu Mbatha-Raw, was awarded to Dominique Fishback for her role in Judas and the Black Messiah.

The AAFCA Award for Best Ensemble, presented by Aida Rodriguez and Sheryl Lee Ralph, was awarded to One Night in Miami.

The AAFCA Award for Breakout Director, presented by Facebook’s Jen Louis Barrett and Aneesh Chaganty, was awarded to  Shaka King, Director of Judas and the Black Messiah.

The AAFCA Award for Best Supporting Actor, presented by Da’Vine Joy Randolph, was awarded to Daniel Kaluuya for his role in Judas and the Black Messiah.

The AAFCA Award for Best Foreign Film, presented by Amma Asante, was awarded to Philippe Lacôte, Director of Night of the Kings.

The AAFCA Award for Best Animated Film, presented by Daryl “Chill” Mitchell and Matthew Cherry, was awarded to SOUL.

The AAFCA Award for Best Documentary, presented by Debra Martin Chase, was awarded to All In: The Fight For Democracy.

The AAFCA Award for Best Short Film, presented by Trevor Noah, was awarded to Two Distant Strangers.

The AAFCA Award for Best Screenplay, presented by Nissan’s Ashli Bobo and The Black List’s Franklin Leonard, was awarded to Kemp Powers for One Night In Miami.

 The AAFCA Award for Best Actress, presented by Lee Daniels, was awarded to Andra Day for her role in The United States Vs. Billie Holiday.

The AAFCA Award for Best Actor, presented by Michael B. Jordan, was awarded to Chadwick Boseman for his role in Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.

The AAFCA Award for Best Director, presented by Gina Prince-Bythewood, was awarded to Regina King for One Night In Miami.

And the AAFCA Award for Best Picture, presented by Chaz Ebert and AAFCA President/CEO Gil Robertson, was awarded to Judas and the Black Messiah.

Special Achievement Awards

The AAFCA Cinema Vanguard Awardintroduced by hosts Tichina Arnold, Tone Bell, and J.B. Smoove and presented by AAFCA President/CEO Gil Robertson, was awarded to NETFLIX.

The AAFCA Salute To Excellence Awards Presented By Diageo, introduced by Co-Host J.B. Smoove and presented by Diageo’s Head of Corporate Responsibility Dr. Danielle Robinson, was awarded to George C. Wolfe.

The AAFCA Innovator Award resented By Nissan, introduced by Co-Host Tichina Arnold and presented by Nissan’s CMO Allyson Witherspoon and Michaela Angela Davis, was awarded to Mariah Carey.

The AAFCA Stanley Kramer Social Justice Award, introduced by Co-Host Tone Bell and presented by Stanley Kramer’s Widow Karen Kramer and Daughter Kat Kramer, was awarded to the All In: The Fight For Democracy Team Stacey Abrams, Lisa Cortes and Liz Garbus with a special message from Ambassador Andy Young.

The AAFCA Icon Award Presented By ADCOLOR, introduced by Hosts Tichina Arnold, Tone Bell, and J.B. Smoove and presented by ADCOLOR Chairman Marc Stephenson Strachan, was awarded to Viola Davis.