'The Wonder Years' Reboot And 4 Other Series Renewed At ABC
Photo Credit: Erika Doss

'The Wonder Years' Reboot And 4 Other Series Renewed At ABC

ABC has greenlit several of its fan-favorite series, including The Wonder Years.

BC has renewed five shows to set the stage for the network’s upfronts presentation. Along with The Wonder Years, the network also renewed A Million Little Things starring Romany Malco and Christina Moses, Big Sky, starring Pitch alum Kylie Bunbury, The Conners, featuring Jayden Rey and Maya Lynne Robinson, and Home Economics, starring Sasheer Zamata.

'The Wonder Years' will happily continue into its second season.

A Million Little Things and The Conners will be back for their fifth seasons, and Big Sky and Home Economics will go into their third seasons. Jensen Ackles, best known for his role on CW’s Supernatural, will join Big Sky as a season regular; according to The Hollywood Reporter, his contract lasts for one season. Jamie-Lynn Sigler will also advance from a recurring actor on the series to a regular.

ABC's breakout comedy 'Abbott Elementary' had already gotten a second season renewal earlier this year after its stellar first season.

Also previously renewed are The Goldbergs, Grey’s Anatomy, Station 19, The Rookie and The Good Doctor.

The Wonder Years is a reboot of the 1980s coming-of-age series starring Fred Savage. Even though the series is still set in the 1960s, this time the central family s a Black family living in Montgomery, Alabama. The series stars Elisha “EJ” Williams, Dulé Hill, Saycon Sengbloh and Laura Kariuki.

Shadow and Act is a website dedicated to cinema, television and web content of Africa and its global Diaspora. With daily news, interviews, in-depth investigations into the audiovisual industry, and more, Shadow and Act promotes content created by and about people of African descent throughout the world.

© 2022 Shadow & Act. All rights reserved.